Skip to content ↓
Putteridge Primary School

Putteridge Primary School


Putteridge Primary School Governing Body

Chair of Governors
Mark Hubbocks
3 Elected Parent Governors
Siobhan Brown
Caeva Deveney
Jasmer Singh
Co-opted Governors
Mark Hubbocks - Chair
Trish Devlin
Liam Donohoe
Sanjay Shah
Tim Sharpe - Vice Chair
Local Authority Governor
Colin Pickard
Elected Staff Governor
Michelle Ward

What we do

The Governing Body is responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality education. Together with the headteacher, who is responsible for day to day management of the school, the Governing Body sets the school’s aims and policies.

Key roles of Governors

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • To hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

The Governors also carry out a number of other important duties, which include

  • Determining how the school's budget is spent
  • The appointing and dismissing of staff
  • Hearing appeals and grievances
  • Forming policy on the school's curriculum and collective worship
  • Setting standards for pupils' behaviour and discipline
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Setting and monitoring the school's aims and policies

How we work in practice

There is a meeting of all Governors at least once each term. However, much of our work takes place in committees and some Governors also have specific roles, such as the SEND Governor.

At the Full Board Meeting, Governors receive and discuss reports from the committees as well as from the headteacher.

The make up of our subgroups is as follows

  • Resources – This committee covers all matters relating to HR, finance and premises. The chair of this committee is Mark Hubbocks. Other committee members are: Sanjay Shah, Jasmer Singh, & Liam Donohoe.
  • Performance & Standards – This committee covers the curriculum and data related to pupils’ academic progress and attainment. The chair of this committee is Tim Sharpe. Other committee members are: Michelle Ward, Siobhan Brown, Caeva Deveney & Trish Devlin.
  • EYFS Governor - Sanjay Shah
  • SEND Governor – Jasmer Singh
  • Safeguarding Governor – Liam Donohoe
  • RSHE Governor - Michelle Ward

Are you interested in being a school Governor?

The role of a school Governor is a demanding one but very rewarding and is a good way to give something back to your local community.

You don't have to have children at the school to be a Governor, but you do have to be over 18.  No specific qualifications are required, but there are certain expectations. What's really important is that you have energy, enthusiasm, time and a real desire to help provide children with the best possible education.

Advice, support and training for the role of a Governor is given by Governor Services at the Council. Some Governors are elected by parents, some are appointed by the governing body itself or the local authority.  This ensures governing bodies reflect the communities they serve.

Most of our meetings are held in the evening, but Governors do visit during the school day to see the school at work.

The term of office for a school Governor is normally four years.

Vacancies do arise on the Governing Body from time to time so if you are interested in becoming a Governor please contact the Clerk to Governors, Sandra Kenneford, in the school office.

Documents setting out The Terms of Reference for each committee are listed as attachments.