Skip to content ↓
Putteridge Primary School

Putteridge Primary School

Curriculum (including Teaching & Learning)

The National Curriculum is a statutory requirement in all maintained schools in England and is a requirement for all children once they reach Year 1. It is broken down into the following subjects, all of which are statutory and must be taught to each and every child (headings of new National Curriculum from September 2014):

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Computing
  • DT
  • Art & Design
  • History
  • Geography
  • Languages (KS2
  • Music
  • PSHE
  • PE
  • RSE

Further information on the Primary National Curriculum can be found at:

Non National Curriculum

  • RE

Our approach

We believe that children learn best when they are actively engaged in their own learning. To this end, we have arranged for the subjects of the National Curriculum to be taught in a cross curricular manner so that learning from one subject can be applied to aid children’s learning in other subjects.

As a 3 form entry school, it is vital that children in each class across a year group have equal entitlement to the curriculum. At Putteridge Primary School, we have developed a cross curricular map for each individual year group. This identifies the aspects of the curriculum to be covered each term, the themes that form the link between and across subjects and the amount of time it should take to deliver the different study units. In this way, we can ensure the coverage of the curriculum is equitable.

Each term, each class teacher will develop a timetable that will enable them to deliver the units within their given theme. It is via this timetable that each teacher ensures that the range of subjects can be taught  to a deeper level over the course of a whole term. This timetable also ensures that there is a proper balance between different subjects and that there is no ‘narrowing down’ of the curriculum.